Five Favorites

Friday Favorites 05-24-13

It’s been quiet here on the blog for a while.  First finals crept in and stole away my time, then the ensuing exhaustion and laziness took over.  But now I’m starting to pack and do other errands in preparation for our move next week so I’m starting to feel energized and productive again.  Little by little…

To ease back into blogging, I’m going to take a tip from a friend and fellow blogger and try my hand at a list of Friday Favorites.  Nothing crazy, just five things that have given me joy, made my life easier, or otherwise caused me to say “wow!” this week.

1. Farberware Coffee Percolator

Our electric coffee maker died the week I started finals.  I know, the irony.  We looked around for a new one, but I was hesitant to buy the $20 crappo coffee pot from Target.  I don’t know, it probably would have been fine.  Anyway, as we were scouring the interwebs for a new machine, this non-electric, old-fashioned percolator kept showing up with the best ratings, and it was only $23!  Over the last few weeks I have come to really love it.  It makes steaming hot, strong coffee using about 2/3 the amount of grounds we used with our electric pot.  Plus, there’s something special about the brown liquid bubbling up in the clear little knob on top as the hot water cycles through the grounds.  Added bonus?  It sits on the stove top.  Hello, extra counter space!

2. These colors:

I don’t know what it is but I go weak in the knees for mustard yellow and gray these days.  Of course, neither color remotely coordinates with anything I own, so I don’t know what to do with my new loves.  Post a picture of them here, that’s what.

3. This Maxi Dress

I feel like I discovered maxi dresses late in the game.  They’re so huge right now, and I don’t think I understood…until I tried this one on at Target.  First off, so comfy.  Second, casual and yet fancy all at the same time.  And when I brought it home, I put it on, considering whether or not to keep it ($30 was feeling like a little much, ya I know, I’m cheap), anyway, I put it on and my husband who usually doesn’t notice clothes at all was immediately like, wow, you look great.  Win!

4. sacredspace.ie

I’ve loved this website since college, but I come back to it again and again.  It’s my go to whenever I’m having a hard time praying or need a new start, a new inspiration.  I love that it’s a website, so when I’m distracted by surfing Pinterest or linking from site to site, I can just take a deep breath, say to myself, “Stop” and click on my sacredspace bookmark and start my prayer.  It works great on the iPad too through Safari.  Most of all I love how simple it is, how the words are geared to really draw you into a time of peaceful, contemplative prayer, and how it is centered on an excerpt from the reading of the day, keeping me in rhythm with the Church’s liturgy.

5. Frozen Egg-less Cookie Dough

It’s possible that I saved the best for last.  ;)  Awhile ago I had the idea that whenever I’d make cookies I would bake only a portion of the batch right away (like 8-12 cookies).  It was a more manageable portion for just the two of us to have hanging around in the house.  I’d roll the rest into little balls and store them in the freezer, ready to become fresh-baked cookies another day.  Problem was, we got in the habit of eating the frozen cookie dough instead of baking it!  So, I gave in and found this egg-less recipe just for eating straight out of the freezer.  They’re gorgeous little balls of goodness aren’t they? (Recipe below, I wouldn’t deprive you like that, don’t worry).

2013-05-24 05.06.33

Frozen Egg-less Cookie Dough Bites

1 1/2 cup brown sugar
1/2 cup butter, softened
1/2 tsp. vanilla
1/2 cup milk
2 cup plus 1 tbsp. flour
1/8 tsp. salt
1 cup chocolate chips

In a medium bowl, mix together the brown sugar and butter until smooth. Stir in vanilla and milk. Mix in the flour, salt, and chocolate chips until well blended. Chill in the refrigerator to firm it up.  You can eat it then right out of the bowl if you like, but I prefer ’em frozen.  Line a cookie sheet with wax paper, place the dough balls on there and stick ’em in the freezer.  Once they’re frozen you can put them in a tupperware for more compact storage.  Trust me though, they won’t last for long!

(Adapted from http://baskersfunfoods.blogspot.com/2009/05/cookie-dough-for-preggies.html)

Comments

