Living Faith · Married Life

Setting Down Roots: A Vision Statement

As I begin to look toward the fall and toward a life of schedule and some order with the return of class and work, I am beginning to wonder, what is the purpose of this blog o’ mine? It would be so easy just to write for the heck of it, whatever I was thinking or feeling and send it out into blog space. It’d also be pretty easy to blindly mimic my favorite blogs out there without digging down and saying, “What am I adding to the conversation? Where’s my voice? What does it sound like? What does it say?”

Somewhere recently, (not exactly a citation, I know), I saw the acronym “T.H.I.N.K.” not for the first time, but again. It’s an acronym currently being used to remind teens (ahem, all of us) to think about the possible consequences before texting, talking or typing. It goes like this:

Is what I’m about to say
True?
Helpful?
Important?
Necessary?
Kind?

Today I’m seeing in this little acronym not only a call to forethought but also some guiding principles for what I put on Setting Down Roots. The one that gets me is the “necessary.” There are so many bloggers out there taking photos and cooking and cleaning and having babies and diy-ing way better than I. Is what I have to say necessary? And what I come around to is, no, in the grand scheme of things, not necessary at all.

And yet… only I can write about what’s true in my heart, no one else. And in that way this is necessary. Because it’s far too easy to stay all cordoned off from one another. Where else do I get to share with you my hopes and dreams, my failures and joys? There aren’t enough 2ams and bottles of red wine to do all of that sharing in person. (Not to mention 2am is feeling way later these days, but if you have a bottle of red wine, let me know. ;-) )

When I first set up this blog I labored for days over what to call it. Finally I read the passage below from Ephesians 3. In it Paul talks about every family on earth being a family because God is familial (whoa.) and that being rooted and established in love allows us to grasp the greatness of God (again, whoa.) What good news! So yes, we are “setting down roots,” that’s what this stage in my life is all about. And I’m not doing it alone. My amazing husband is right beside me, loving me through all of it. To be honest, I haven’t shared much about that with you, but I want to. I think I needed to find my vision first, to find my voice. I guess that gives you something to look forward to.

Vision Statement of “Setting Down Roots” (a.k.a. Ephesians 3:14-21)

14 For this reason I kneel before the Father, 15 from whom every family in heaven and on earth derives its name. 16 I pray that out of his glorious riches he may strengthen you with power through his Spirit in your inner being, 17 so that Christ may dwell in your hearts through faith. And I pray that you, being rooted and established in love, 18 may have power, together with all the Lord’s holy people, to grasp how wide and long and high and deep is the love of Christ, 19 and to know this love that surpasses knowledge—that you may be filled to the measure of all the fullness of God.

20 Now to him who is able to do immeasurably more than all we ask or imagine, according to his power that is at work within us, 21 to him be glory in the church and in Christ Jesus throughout all generations, for ever and ever! Amen.

I don’t know that I’m adding anything necessary to the blogosphere when I type out these words, but hey, I think it’s good for me to think through what it means to be young and figuring life out. Maybe in the end it’ll be good for you to read it too. I can only hope that I witness to Love and grow in knowledge of Love while doing it. Thanks for being here.

Until next time,
Andrea

P.S. What do you want to hear about on the blog? I’m glad to hear suggestions!

Comments

