Five Favorites · Grace in the Everyday

Five Favorites: Vol. 1

“Friday Favorites” has been on hiatus for quite some time. I’ve decided to bring it back, but on Wednesdays to link up with Hallie at moxiewife.com. Enjoy!

– 1 –
Evening Prayer

My husband and I have been looking to make daily couple prayer part of our life, well, for a while now. We tried doing prayers before bed for a while, but he’s a night owl and I am decidedly not, so that just wasn’t working for us. Now that we’re both in a routine with work and school, we’ve gotten in the habit of praying evening prayer from the Liturgy of Hours before dinner. It only takes about 15 minutes, and I love the simplicity and beauty of the prayer and how it connects us to scripture and one another. Plus we get to sing hymns together, one of our favorite things to do!

– 2 –
Once Upon A Time

I’m probably way behind on the times (comes with not having cable and only watching TV on Netflix) but we just discovered this show and have found it surprisingly intriguing! I’m only three episodes in, but loving it.

– 3 –
My Non-Profit Management Course

This is probably the dorkiest Five Favorite ever, but hey! I’m a grad student! And this class is rocking my socks. I love it. I just read close to a hundred pages about how spending more on overhead and organizational infrastructure allows non-profits to do more good not less because they’re more efficient and attract better workers. Think of that next time you decide where to give! And if you didn’t understand any of that, well, humor me please. ;-)

– 4 –
Pocket

This cloud-based app allows you to save anything you’d read online to your Pocket queue so you remember to read them elsewhere without needing to leave a bunch of tabs open or bookmark things or whatever I used to do (i.e. not read stuff). It reformats the website to make it infinitely more readable by re-flowing the text, Kindle style. Once you have stuff in your queue you don’t need an internet connection to read the stuff either, which makes it an awesome way for me to catch up on reading blogs I love on my iPod touch while on the subway! Yay, for working around not having a smartphone. But seriously, this is an awesome app, I highly recommend. And hey, you could even Pocket this blog post and take it with you (the link to do so is below!)

– 5 –
The Way of Discernment: Spiritual Practices for Decision Making
 by Elizabeth Liebert

I have read and re-read this book at least four different times since I first bought it a couple of years ago. I come back to it every time I have an important decision to make and sometimes even when I just need a booster shot in my ability to discern how God is communicating with me in the day-to-day, you know? What I like so much about this book is that it is not just a book about discernment, but it is set up more like a retreat or collection of prayer practices. Each chapter has one or more little boxes walking the reader through a prayer to  put the discernment technique she’s talking about into practice right away. I wish more books on the spiritual life were written like this one!

3 thoughts on “Five Favorites: Vol. 1

  1. I would love to be a fly on the wall of your non-profit management course!! I had a less favorable experience at one, and I think it was PRECISELY because my boss needed that course. :) I would love to read your #5 too – thanks for the recommendation!!

    Like

Comments

