Grace in the Everyday · Recipes

How you like dem apples?

them-applesIn a pie please! So yesterday, I baked my first pie of the season. I know, I’m excited too. I thought I would share with you because, honestly, I just can’t keep something this tasty to myself.

For the crust, I’m going to refer you to the expert. This is seriously the best pie crust ever. Ever, I tell you. So easy to roll out, so flaky, mmm yes, my mouth’s watering just thinking about it. Alright, when you’ve finished the crust and it’s been appropriately chillin’ in the freezer for a while, come back here and make the delicious apple-packed filling.

Frontier Woman’s Perfect Pie Crust:

Andrea’s Apple Pie Filling

First off, you’re going to want a deep pie dish. Those wimpy grocery store tins just won’t do for the masterpiece we’re about to create.

Now’s a good time to take two pie crusts out of the freezer to thaw.

In a large bowl mix together 1/2 cup of sugar, 1/4 cup of flour, 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon and 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg.

Then, peel up 8 medium apples. I used McIntosh against all appley cooking advice out there. I think they are delicious in pies and wherever else you put them. And yes, peeling them in swirly long strips makes it that much more fun.

IMG_8124

IMG_8129

Core the apples and halve them from top to bottom (think longitude not latitude). Then slice ’em up nice and thin latitudinally. For best results I recommend using a food processor with the slicing attachment. It does such a good job and is so quick!

Pour the sliced apples into the bowl of sugar and cinnamony goodness and toss to coat the apples. This is a little tricky because we’re dealing with quite a few apples, so proceed carefully.

This is where I preheat the oven to 425 degrees fahrenheit, if you’re a by the book sorta gal, you might want to do it sooner.

Next, roll out one of your pie crusts onto a lightly-floured surface until it’s large enough to line your pie plate. Carefully pick it up and go ahead and line the thing with yummy pie crust.

Then, with as much elegance as possible (my dog liked this part…) dump the apples into the crust-lined pie plate. It’s going to be really full, like we’re talking near to overflowing. I pushed the apples down a bit and tried to make them as densely-packed as possible.

IMG_8131

Next (I always forget this step!) slice up 2 tablespoons of firm butter into chunks and dob on top of the apples.

Go ahead and roll out your second crust and drape it over the filling. Attach your crusts together using any number of beautiful techniques. I prefer the rope one which is made by pinching the crust between your forefinger and thumb at a diagonal all around the edge. Cut slits in the top for ventilation and brush with 2 teaspoons of water. Sprinkle 1 teaspoon of sugar on the top of the crust if you so desire (I did!).

IMG_8136 IMG_8137

Line the edge of the crust with tin foil to avoid burning it and plop in the oven for 40-50 minutes. Remove the foil for the last 15 minutes of baking and voila!

IMG_8142

You have yourself a pie. Now comes the really hard part. Let cool for 2 HOURS. TWO HOURS! We made it to 1.5 before digging in. See how well you do. ;-) Happy baking!

One thought on “How you like dem apples?

Comments

