Five Favorites · Grace in the Everyday

Five Favorites: Vol. 3

Hey friends. I’m linking up (late!) with Hallie at moxiewife.com this week for a lyrics-themed Five Favorites. I don’t necessarily feel like these songs speak to my situation, but that they are strikingly lyrical and I’ve been listening to them a lot this week. Anyway, thought I’d share!

– 1 –
Audrey Assad, “Breaking You”

Audrey Assad, a Catholic Christian singer-songwriter is a beautiful storyteller and speaks from the heart in her songs. Her parents were divorced in her early 20s, and I can’t but think that she’s singing this tender song to one of them. It’s a song to anyone losing hope.

You’ve been let down, it’s true
Your pain is so easy to see
You’re haunted by your history
And it feels like you’ve got no escape

Your life left you high and dry
You used to be sure of yourself
But then your whole world went to hell
And tomorrow looks just like today

So, you lie on your bed, you won’t let the morning come in
And you hide in your room, feeding that fear and it’s killing you
Don’t you know
That it’s killing me too, cause your heart break is breaking you

I miss the life in your eyes
The home that I found in your arms
And now you don’t know who you are
But I won’t give up on you
No

You lie on your bed, you won’t let the morning come in
And you hide in your room, feeding that fear and it’s killing you
Don’t you know
That it’s killing me too, cause your heart break is breaking you

And you lost your fire
And your flame’s gone out
And your down on your knees
Cause your life is not what you thought it would be
No,

Lift up your head
Help is on the way
And it won’t pass you by
You just gotta reach out your hand

Lift up your eyes
Love is on the way
And it won’t pass you by
You just gotta reach out your hand

Go on and lift up your head
Because love is on His way
And He won’t pass you by
You’ve just gotta reach out your hand

– 2 –
John Mayer, “Waiting on the Day”

John Mayer has been crooning about wanting a home life for years, and I’m starting to think, you know, you could have it if you really wanted it. Nonetheless, I think the imagery he uses to describe the long-term love he dreams of is just beautiful in this song.

Waiting on the day,
When my thoughts are my own.
When this house is my home,
And plans are made.
When you’ll be there for me baby.
When you’ll love me all the way.
When you’ll take my side in every little fire fight.
When you’ll hang your things and stay.

I’m waiting on the day.
When my life on the run
Bleaches out in the sun
And shows my age.
Waiting on the day,
When that voice comes to say
That it’s not wrong what you did for just a kid.

When you’ll be there for me baby.
When you’ll love me all the way.
When you’ll take my side in every little fire fight.
When you’ll hang your things and stay.

I’m waiting on the day,
Waiting on the day,
When these words are in stone.
When the kids are all grown,
And we go dancing.
Oh, can you do it baby?
Can you love me all the way?
Will you tie me tight in little strands of paradise?
Will you walk with me before the morning fades?

I’m waiting on the day.
Waiting on the day.

– 3 –
Brooke Fraser, “Orphans, Kingdoms”

This one somehow reminds me of Narnia, of a world where adventure, honor and goodness reign and where humans are truly human.

In me, in you
Orphans, kingdoms
Wide eyes and paper crowns
Time will hold us,
Time erode us,
We’re wrinkling children now

We are wandering where the wild wind blows
We are happy here ’cause the wild wind knows
What we are
Orphans, kingdoms

In me, in you
Fiends, explorers
Babes with coats of arms
A world inside us
A feast, a harvest
Each soul a son, a star

We are wandering where the wild wind blows
We are happy here ’cause the wild wind knows
What we are
Orphans, kingdoms

Eat and drink, for tomorrow we die
We will look our maker in the eye
Raise a flagon and drink to your health
Who is he that can conquer himself

We are wandering where the wild wind blows
We are happy here ’cause the wild wind knows
What we are
Orphans, kingdoms

– 4 –
Dave Matthews Band, “Stay or Leave”

I haven’t really got into Dave Matthews despite Tom’s cousin’s/best man’s insistence on his excellence, but lately I’ve been driving back and forth from school with only my husband’s iPod in the car for musical choice. Our musical tastes don’t overlap that much so I’ve had to explore some new (to me) music. This song is the most striking description of a breakup I’ve heard.

Maybe different, but remember
Winters warm there you and I,
Kissing whiskey by the fire 
With the snow outside
And when the summer comes
The river swims at midnight
Shiver cold
Touch the bottom, you and I,
with muddy toes

Stay or leave
I want you not to go
But you should
It was good, as good goes
Stay or leave
I want you not to go
But you did

Wake up naked drinking coffee,
Making plans to change the world
While the world is changing us…
It was good good love.
We used to laugh under the covers
Maybe not so often now
The way I used to laugh with you
Was loud and hard

Stay or leave
I want you not to go
But you should
It was good as good goes
Stay or leave
I want you not to go
But you did

So what to do
With the rest of the day’s afternoon, hey
Well isn’t it strange how we change
Everything we did
Did I do all that I should?
That I could’a done

Remember we used to dance
And everyone wanted to be
You and me
I want to be too
What day is this?
Besides the day you left me?
What day is this
Besides the day you went?

So what to do
With the rest of the day’s afternoon, hey
Well isn’t it strange how we change
Everything we did
Did I do all that I could?

Remember we used to dance
And everyone wanted to be you and me
I want to be too
What day is this?
Besides the day you left baby
What day is this?

– 5 –
The Avett Brothers, “Head Full of Doubt/Road Full of Promise”

This one, sort of like the Brooke Fraser one, makes me remember that there’s more
to life than we see with our eyes, and yet, we know it and must live it, otherwise we’re trapped like birds in a cage.

There’s a darkness upon me that’s flooded in light
In the fine print they tell me what’s wrong and what’s right
And it comes in black and it comes in white
And I’m frightened by those that don’t see it

When nothing is owed or deserved or expected
And your life doesn’t change by the man that’s elected
If you’re loved by someone, you’re never rejected
Decide what to be and go be it

There was a dream and one day I could see it
Like a bird in a cage I broke in and demanded that somebody free it
And there was a kid with a head full of doubt
So I’ll scream til I die and the last of those bad thoughts are finally out

There’s a darkness upon you that’s flooded in light
And in the fine print they tell you what’s wrong and what’s right
And it flies by day and it flies by night
And I’m frightened by those that don’t see it

There was a dream and one day I could see it
Like a bird in a cage I broke in and demanded that somebody free it
And there was a kid with a head full of doubt
So I’ll scream til I die and the last of those bad thoughts are finally out (x2)

There’s a darkness upon me that’s flooded in light
In the fine print they tell me what’s wrong and what’s right
There’s a darkness upon me that’s flooded in light
And I’m frightened by those that don’t see it

Comments

