Five Favorites · Grace in the Everyday

Five Favorites: Vol. 5 – Website Edition

Happy Wednesday, campers. Here are my five faves of the week, website edition. See  more favorites over at Hallie’s page, Moxie Wife!

– 1 –
Mary Is My Homegirl

If you haven’t visited this website, oh, please do. I mean, a lot of it is pretty niche humor for theology graduate students (like I said, niche) but anyone with a healthy dose of academia and/or Catholic nerdiness will be tickled pink. I guess if you don’t fit into those categories, well, um, I’m sorry. And you’re missing out. Btw, today’s is so totally what I’m about to do today. Awesome.

Screen Shot 2013-10-23 at 9.00.43 AM

– 2 –
Code Academy

This neat website teaches you to do basic web coding by interactively teaching you to write code. In many ways, it’s taught like learning a new language. Each lesson builds on what you’ve just learned so you gradually build up fluency in writing code! Super useful, and fun if I do say so myself.

Screen Shot 2013-10-23 at 8.59.42 AM

– 3 –
Paperless Post

I started using this website about the time that one of my classmates created it back in 2009. Since then, it’s become an incredibly widely-used resource for fancy, inexpensive and effective party invites. Other than the incredibly classy invitation designs, what I also really love about Paperless Post is the RSVP tracking features. You can gather yes/no/maybes and see which of your guests has viewed the invitation or not, even ask your guests questions as part of their response. The RSVP features are so well-organized and handy and there are so many free designs, this is the only online invite service I ever use!

Screen Shot 2013-10-23 at 8.55.03 AM

– 4 –
Shutterfly

Shutterfly is one of my favorite websites (though I suppose that’s the point of this post, right!?). I use it for a few different things, though designing photo books is definitely on the top of the list. (Pictured below is a page from the book I made documenting our honeymoon trip to Ireland.) You can have so much flexibility and creativity with the custom path, it really feels more like scrapbooking than like putting photos in a photo album. I also use their share sites, more for my own use than for sharing. I’m able to store all of my full size photo files on there for free. That really got me out of a jam when our hard drive crashed earlier this year! You can download any picture off a share site. This makes it great for you know, sharing pictures, videos and photo books as well. You can protect the site with a password too to make it accessible to only those whom you invite. And frankly, I also use Shutterfly for inspiration. Whenever I’m working on a new design project I browse their card selection to just get my creative juices flowing. They’re so pretty and on trend!

Screen Shot 2013-10-23 at 9.20.59 AM

– 5 –
Ravelry

Last but not least, Ravelry. For all you knitters and crocheters out there, this is a must have on your bookmarks bar. I love browsing the thousands of patterns on this website, many of them free, many more available for download for a small price. You can get in touch with the designer if you’re having trouble or look for a chat thread based on a particular pattern to get in touch with other knitters working on the same project. You can keep track of what you’ve made (screenshot of my projects archive below), take notes on a project as you go along, keep tabs on what yarn you have in your stash, put patterns on a queue, and way, way more. It’s so much fun, and the community on there is great too. Lots of encouragement and love. :)

Screen Shot 2013-10-23 at 9.46.58 AM

Comments

