Grace in the Everyday

Family. Too good to take for granted.

This past weekend I had the pleasure of attending a baby shower for my cousin. She’s eight months pregnant! :D She’s the first of my cousins to be having a baby and we can’t wait to meet this little miss.

The shower was a real treat, mostly because I was able to spend time with my family. And since it was just us ladies and there was no Thanksgiving turkey to fuss over or whatnot, I felt we were able to just relax and talk.

IMG_8367

Lately, I’ve started to realize the importance of not only spending time with, but also getting to know my family. It’s easy to think that family will just always be there. They are more like life’s companions than friends that I know inside and out. But I don’t want to this to be the case. I don’t want to take my family for granted.

IMG_8372

So, I talked with Haylie about her upcoming wedding, with Abbey about her love of soccer, about how Aimee can actually tend to a garden (so impressed!). I shared a love of crafts with my Aunt Anne (maybe she can teach me how to crochet), and I colored Minions with Julia and Avery. Erika and I talked about college and about meeting people through the field hockey team. I didn’t know my relatives were so talented! I learned so much about them all.

IMG_8366

IMG_8373

And of course we all gushed over Michelle who looked so sweet with her baby bump and jean skirt. We also gushed over the piles of adorable baby girl clothes, toys and supplies everyone brought her. It was so good to be a part of the community that will surround her and Justin as they begin their lives as parents.

IMG_8371 IMG_8379

I am very grateful for the time spent getting to know and being with my family. That little gal has quite a good one to look forward to!

Love,
Andrea

Comments

